top of page


Established in 1993, Preservation Piedmont is a non-profit grass-roots organization dedicated to preservation public awareness and advocacy, serving the City of Charlottesville, the County of Albemarle, and adjacent localities.

Preservation Piedmont is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation of the built environment and its setting in order to protect and create an appreciation for the historic resources of the region.

Preservation is promoted by the protection and rehabilitation of historic buildings, sites, and neighborhoods, as well as the natural and created landscape, traditional routes, and open spaces.

The purposes of Preservation Piedmont are to serve the City of Charlottesville, the County of Albemarle, and adjacent localities by:

  • promoting greater public awareness of and advocating for historic preservation in the region;

  • protecting the historic resources of the region;

  • sponsoring educational tours and programs that encourage public participation in the preservation, restoration, and ownership of historic and archeological sites, buildings and structures, and landscapes significant to the cultural, social and architectural history of the region;

  • promoting heritage tourism;

  • supporting and initiating local projects, partnerships, and studies that help to identify and protect important community historic resources; and

  • monitoring local and state government actions on issues affecting preservation of historical, cultural, and natural resources.

These goals are also promoted by cooperating with other groups and organizations committed to the preservation and welfare of the community.

2022 Executive Committee:

Rebecca Deeds, President
Lucy Midelfort, Vice President
Ellen Wagner, Treasurer

Emma Earnst, Secretary

2022 Board of Directors:

Bernadette Whitsett-Hammond
Craig Swift
Ed Brooks
Ellen Wagner
Emma Earnst
Liz Russell

Lorenzo Dickerson  
Lucy Midelfort
Michael Dickens
Rachel Lloyd
Rebecca Deeds
Richard Guy Wilson

Tom Raney

Will Rourk

Our Mission

2022 Board of Advisors:

Richard Crozier
Helena Devereux

Bill Adams
Bill Emory

Elizabeth "Jo" Lawson
Jean Hiatt

Jim Boyd
Madeleine Hawks
Andrew Johnston
Genevieve Keller
K. Edward Lay

Kay Slaughter
Margaret Maliszewski Fritz
Judy Mickelson
Melanie Miller
Judy Rasmussen
Mark Rylander
Maria Chapel

Justin Sarafin
Edwina St. Rose
Mary Joy Scala
Ross L. Stevens
Roulhac B. Toledano
Peggy Van Yahres

bottom of page